The evaluation of the openness of Finnish research organisations, research-funding organisations, academic and cultural institutes abroad and learned societies and academies, completed by the Ministry of Education and Culture to assess the openness of operational cultures and to evaluate progress for the organisations evaluated in previous years. Results of the evaluation are published in Atlas of open science and research in Finland 2019: Evaluation of openness in the activities of higher education institutions, research institutes, research-funding organisations, Finnish academic and cultural institutes abroad and learned societies and academies.

The Finnish research community has jointly created a Declaration for Open Science and Research. The declaration was approved by the National Open Science and Research Steering Group on 10th of December, 2019.

The declaration provides a common direction for the development of the research community. The declaration outlines a vision, where open science and research are seamlessly integrated into researchers' everyday work. The joint mission is to promote openness as a fundamental value of science, to strengthen the relevance of research in society and to increase the mobility and impact of research. The declaration defines four objectives that specify how openness will become part of the daily life of researchers and scientists. The goals are defined by the research community for

  • research culture
  • open access to research publications
  • open access to research data and methods, and
  • open education and educational resources as promoted by the research community.

The declaration is available in English, Finnish and Swedish.

Most of the EOSC-related activities in Finland are listed on the CSC website.

There are several Finnish representatives in the EOSC Working Groups:


  • Iiris Liinamaa, CSC - IT Center for Science Ltd.
  • Anu Märkälä, CSC - IT Center for Science Ltd.
  • Susanna Nykyri, Tampere University


  • Juuso Marttila, Open Science Centre of University of Jyväskylä


  • Ville Tenhunen, EGI Foundation

Rules of Participation

  • Pirjo-Leena Forsström, CSC IT Center for Science

Skills & Training

  • Anne Maarit Sunikka, Aalto University


  • Henriikka Mustajoki, The Federation of Finnish Learned Societies